Living Epistles

I just understood something so beautiful, I want to make a post about it so that I never forget.


A few years ago I wanted to understand the Book of Romans…  I knew there was a bunch of truth packed in there and I wanted to know about all of it. 


I read it over and over again. I bought a study guide with a commentary and met with a friend once a week and we would read thru it and talk about it together. It’s like all I wanted was to understand Romans… well I never did.

I got nothing out of it.

I was so frustrated. No understanding, no revelation, literally nothing. They were just words on a page with no life. I would get really frustrated because I had a friend that told me understanding the book of Romans changed her whole walk with God… it didnt do anything like that for me.


Ive been wondering recently when is Jesus going to take me thru the Book of Romans? Seems like a pretty important book to understand doctrine… I mean, that’s what I’ve heard. 


Jesus has taken me thru only two complete books of the bible. Revelation and Song of Solomon. Sure, I’ve read more than those two complete books, I used to be quite the bible thumper and have read most of the OT and the NT multiple times. I still read the bible… I mean that Jesus Himself has only taken me thru two complete books… which is a different kind of thing. Romans wasn’t one of them…


I turned on my audio bible app today to Romans… in listening to it, I just realized that the reason Jesus never took me thru Romans is because He’s been teaching me the same truths over the last year and half in real life… 


Teaching me about the wrath of God being poured out against all ungodliness on the cross… understanding that I am justified by faith (Christ in me is faith… His faith and not my own), that nothing in my flesh can please God, my struggles with legalism, and finally getting revelation that there is no condemnation in Christ. The righteousness of the law fufilled in us (Christ in you fufills all things). Reckoning myself dead to sin and alive to Christ and in Christ… being transformed by the renewing of my mind… etc.


And Grace. I’ve been learning a lot about Gods Grace lately. What it is and what is isn’t.


I remembered asking Jesus repeatedly to “teach me what You taught Paul”… that is something I pray very othen.


The truth contained in scripture is lived out in our very lives in Christ. We walk these truths out in Him and He in us. We are living epistles.

.

.

.

9 thoughts on “Living Epistles

  1. So love this…can definitely relate abt Him takin u thru only 2 books….same here…its why i never think to initiate study because i only have been led thru by Him….

    Yrs ago th Lord told me that grace is th Spirit of God…Grace Truth came by Jesus Christ…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I remembered this scripture I found when Charlene and I started chatting a couple of years ago… about Grace being our teacher and how Grace isnt an attribute, uts a person.

    11 For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men, 12 Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world;
    Titus 2:11‭-‬12

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Love this so much.. every word! Love how u put it too.. that its by faith, which is Christ in us, not our own. Lately I keep seeing this over n over.. that when Jesus told people “your faith has made you whole”.. I see that He was speaking of Himself. Your faith being Jesus. Love what u said too abt how the truth of scripture is something we walk thru IN Him.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I never thought of that… I totally see what you’re saying. I used to wonder if my faith was enough to move mountains… or if I believed enough that someone would be healed… my faith was never enough because it came from me. Faith is something that is Jesus Himself but also something He builds in us by taking us thru the fire and showing Himself faithful every time. Love this comment!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Same here! I thought the same before. I found that faith is a fruit of the Spirit so it cant be ourselves. He increases our Faith.. increasing Himself in us, causing us to decrease. Love that abt Him building Himself in us and being faithful even in the fire. Makes me remember the fiery furnance.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I remember you said that obedience is also a fruit of the Spirit… I was thinking on that recently and remembering a convo bt all 3 of us talking about Jesus Himself being the fruit!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Praise God for what He’s doing in you. His richness comes through what you’re writing. I say that to lift Him up & because the Spirit bears witness to these things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment